Welcome to my blog!

Image

WELCOME TO MY BLOG!

My name is Lara. I’m a cherry loving almost 27 year old graduate student currently pursuing a Master of Fine Arts (MFA) degree in Screenwriting at California State University, Northridge. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Film Studies with a minor in Disability Studies from University of California at Berkeley. Upon completion of my Masters degree, I would like to further my education and obtain a Ph.D in Disability Studies with an emphasis in disability portrayal in the media, particularly television, film, new media and interaction with online fandom communities. I love watching independent films, particularly romance dramas, as well as supernatural strong heroine television series. Bottom line, I am a fan girl. A fan girl of many things.

After having the wonderful opportunity to attend both San Diego Comic Con this past summer as well as CommuniCon (a convention specifically for fans of the NBC series Community), I became inspired to start this blog. I realized that while there may be some discussion of disability portrayal in mainstream media, I have yet to see much discussion about the intersection of online fandom and disability studies. Living an active life as a young woman with cerebral palsy, this blog will encapsulate various television shows, movies and facets of fandom from a disability studies perspective.

Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to my blog!

  1. eilowynfic says:

    Hi Lara! I’d love to hear more of your story, and I’m so happy to have met you at CommuniCon! There really isn’t a lot of discussion of disability in media or fandom. I’m curious as to what you think of Glee? It’s really good with representation (of everything but bisexuality – Ryan Murphy and I have issues), but it’s so saccharine that it seems to be only paying lip service. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

